Honey-brown sugar glazed carrots

Since August, I have been following Weight Watchers, with great success.  One of the common misconceptions that people have about the plan is that “you have to eat diet food.”  Well, yeah, but their version of diet food is the stuff you buy at the grocery store.  Like from the produce section–you know, the green leafy things, red round things or bright orange things that grow in the ground.

But alas, this blog isn’t about the Weight Watchers plan; it’s about good food.  I will say that in the four months I’ve followed the plan, I have sacrificed nothing in the way of food and still have eaten exceptionally well, including the recipe I’m about to share with you.

For Christmas this year, my mother in law requested that we have prime rib, to which I said, “But of course” because I am totally down with eating prime rib, especially when I fix it.  A couple of years ago I fixed one for my family, which they STILL talk about to this day.  So the main course was determined, but the sides were not.  I decided that since I had changed my eating habits for the better that it would not hurt to serve sides that were relatively healthy for everyone but that were still flavorful.  Thus, the glazed carrots I whipped up were added to the menu.  To wit:

Wouldn't you eat carrots that tasted like candy? I know I would. And I did, and they were pretty tasty!

If carrots were served this way, I’m thoroughly convinced more people would eat them.

Here’s how I did it.

You need:

  • 2 pounds baby-cut carrots (or use actual baby carrots, whatever you have available is fine; I prefer parisienne carrots but they were not available in Auburn)
  • 1 tablespoon extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 cup honey (I used Round Rock Honey)
  • 1/4 cup dark brown sugar
  • 3/4 tsp cinnamon (this is an approximate measure; I usually don’t measure)
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • zest of one orange
  • juice of said orange
  • 1 cup of water
  • 3 tablespoons of salted butter

In a large saute pan, heat your olive oil.  Once your oil is hot, place the carrots in and cook them until they are lightly browned.  Add the water and cover tightly, allowing the carrots to steam cook until slightly softened, but not mushy.  You still want the carrots to have a bit of a bite to them.

Now, add the butter and the cup of honey, stirring everything together to coat the carrots.  Stir in the brown sugar.  The sugar is not so much for sweetness as it is for adding color to the sauce.  Sprinkle the cinnamon and nutmeg over the carrots and stir so that the spices are evenly distributed.  Cover the carrots for about 10 more minutes, and finish the dish by adding the juice of one orange whose zest you have also added to the pan.  Stir to combine, and cook for 2 more minutes to allow the flavors to marry.

Serve while hot.  The honey/sugar/juice/spice mixture makes an excellent glaze for the carrots.  This recipe served 7 hungry Christmas feasters.

2 responses to “Honey-brown sugar glazed carrots

  1. Do you think I could cut back on the sugar and replace with a little salt? Half a cup seems like a lot of sugar.

    • You know, you probably could, given that the honey is essentially pure glucose. I didn’t really measure the amount of sugar I put into the pan, but now that I’m thinking about it, I think it really was only about a 1/4 cup. I’ll edit the recipe to reflect this change. The dark brown sugar is really there for color more than anything. Also, when I served myself, I only ate about 2/3 cup of the dish, since I have to watch my carbs (boo, diabetes!).

Leave a Reply

