White Bean Chicken Chili

Well, the weathermen were right.  We did end up getting about 4 inches of snow yesterday.  However, the snow was not enough to cancel school outright today, but we did get delayed 2 hours.  This delay turned out to be a good thing, as it allowed me to throw dinner together in the slow cooker.  I’d been thinking about making a version of Ruby Tuesday’s chicken chili, because it is pretty damned delicious.  Yes, I am one of those cooks that goes out to eat, tries something on the menu, and then tries to figure out what the ingredients are so that I can replicate it at home.  I think I came fairly close with this one, minus the onions of course.

Filling, hearty and great for a cold winter's night, this chili can go in the slow cooker in the morning and be ready to eat when you get home. Little effort, lots of flavor!

Here’s how I did it.  You will need:

  • 2 pounds boneless, skinless chicken thighs
  • 3 cans navy beans, drained and rinsed (I rinse canned beans to remove a bit of the salt)
  • 1 can navy beans, pureed
  • 1 4 oz. can diced hot green chiles (I used Hatch brand)
  • 1 can diced tomatoes, drained
  • 1 carton (32 oz.) chicken stock
  • 1 tablespoon minced garlic
  • 2 teaspoons garlic powder
  • 2 teaspoons white pepper
  • 1 tablespoon ancho chile powder
  • 2 teaspoons Mexican oregano
  • 3 teaspoons ground cumin

For garnish:  Monterrey Jack or Chihuahua cheese would be good.  Tortilla chips and sour cream (if that’s your thing) would also be tasty.

In a 5 or 6 quart slow cooker, place the chicken, beans, tomatoes, stock and spices.  Stir to combine.  If you need to add a little water, do it now.  Set the slow cooker to cook on low for 10 hours (I did, because I knew I’d be gone at work during the day).  During the last hour of cooking, add the bean puree to thicken the soup up a bit.  Serve with cheese garnish.

This recipe made 8 1 3/4-cup servings.  We each ate a bowl and had a small quesadilla, and were quite full afterward.  Needless to say we had leftovers!

To add more depth of flavor, you really need to add 1 medium onion, diced.  I also think a can of hot Rotel tomatoes would boost the spicy factor here.  Next time I am planning on adding crushed red pepper flakes to increase the heat.

One response to “White Bean Chicken Chili

  1. I made something similar over the winter, but it was called Chili Blanco. 🙂 Looks yummy!

Leave a Reply

