Cheesy Barbecue Meatloaf

When thinking about what you want to eat for dinner, have you ever wanted to whip up something that screamed “comfort food?”  The definition of comfort food varies from person to person but generally it’s a food that makes you feel all warm and fuzzy inside that likely evokes pleasant memories while eating it.

Mind you, meatloaf is not my own personal comfort food, but it does in a pinch, and hey, it’s easy to make and pretty tasty.  I’d been craving beef for a while since I hadn’t had any in quite a while (the new eating habits haven’t totally gotten me to eschew beef altogether, but my consumption of it is greatly lessened), so I decided to put together a meatloaf for dinner tonight.  Most meatloaf recipes call for a meat mixture that includes ground beef, pork or veal, a veggie base that includes onions, a binder that is usually egg and breadcrumbs and ketchup or tomato paste for a bit of rich flavor.

I made mine a bit differently, and used ground sirloin and light breakfast sausage for my meat mixture, celery and garlic as my veggies, egg white and oatmeal as my binder, and barbecue sauce as my tomato base.  I added in some brisket rub for flavor, and sharp cheddar cheese and the result was amazing.  To wit:

Comfort food at its finest...and relatively healthy, too: this flavor-packed meatloaf uses egg whites and oatmeal in place of whole eggs and breadcrumbs as the binder.

As you can see, I served mine with a baked potato and broccoli crowns, and boy was it ever good!  Hubby ate all of his in nothing flat, and I ate slowly so I could savor every bite.  I did think about how awesome the leftovers would be in a sandwich for lunch tomorrow, which I will most certainly be having!

Here’s how I did it.  You will need:

  • 3/4 pound ground sirloin
  • 1/2 pound lean breakfast sausage (I used HEB brand light breakfast sausage)
  • 2 tablespoons Brisket of Love rub (I implore you, get this rub; it is AWESOME)
  • 1 cup diced celery (onions would be good here too, but I used celery to accommodate for food allergies.  The texture is similar.)
  • 1 cup barbecue sauce, divided (I used Fox Bros., but any will do)
  • 2 teaspoons minced garlic
  • 2 teaspoons extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 egg white, or 1/4 cup liquid egg whites
  • 3/4 cup quick-cooking oats
  • 1/2 cup shredded sharp cheddar cheese

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees F.

In a skillet, heat the oil until hot and then saute the celery and garlic until the celery is soft.  Meanwhile, in a large mixing bowl, place the two meats, egg whites, spices, cheese, half the barbecue sauce, egg whites, oatmeal and cooked celery.  You can use your hands to mix all of this, or do like I did, and put all the ingredients into the bowl of your stand mixer (love my KitchenAid!) and mix on low speed for 2-3 minutes so that everything combines and all the ingredients are evenly distributed throughout the mixture.

Cover a small baking sheet with parchment paper.  If you don’t have any parchment paper, a loaf pan will do just fine, but trust me on the parchment paper–this loaf will not stick to it!  Using a large silicone or rubber spatula, scrape down the bowl you have mixed the meatloaf in until the mixture makes a round mound in the bowl’s center.   Carefully invert the mounded meatloaf onto the parchment paper and form it into a rustic loaf shape (if you are baking on a baking sheet, as I did).  If you are not baking the loaf on a baking sheet, line a loaf pan with the parchment paper and fill the loaf pan with the meatloaf mixture.   Regardless of how you shape your meatloaf, pour the remaining barbecue sauce over the top of the uncooked loaf and place the loaf in the oven to cook for 55-60 minutes, or until a meat thermometer inserted into the center reads no less than 170 degrees F.

This recipe made 6 very generous servings.  We definitely have leftovers, some of which I will be eating tomorrow as my lunch!

2 responses to “Cheesy Barbecue Meatloaf

  1. Pingback: Daily Bites and Raging Against the Hormones | La Guerra de La Gorda

  2. Pingback: Bonus Post: Daily Bites and Sunday Cooking | La Guerra de La Gorda

Leave a Reply

