Mushrooms in Creamy Bourbon Sauce

Earlier this week, I posted the recipe for the beef tenderloin I fixed SB and myself for Valentine’s Day.  The accompanying photo, seen here:

A creamy mushroom sauce with a hint of bourbon on the tenderloin sends it over the top with flavor.

shows some lovely Cremini mushrooms draped over the top of the luscious rare tenderloin.  Sweet Baboo is a big fan of fungi, and while I am not, I am always glad to make him sauteed mushrooms of some sort whenever we have steaks.  This time, I didn’t want to make the run of the mill sauteed mushrooms, though.  I wanted this to be a bit more elegant and flavorful; after all, we were eating tenderloin, which is not an every day occurrence in our household.

I happened to pick up some Cremini mushrooms at Central Market when I did the shopping for this meal, but really, any sort of button mushroom would do here.  I also used half and half to cut the fat slightly, but unfortunately I think the butter I added just put it right back in!  The bourbon I used was Knob Creek, but you can use any bourbon you have.

Here’s how I did it.  You will need:

  • 1 1/2 cups sliced mushrooms
  • 1/2 cup half and half (for a richer sauce, use heavy cream)
  • 1 tablespoon butter
  • 1 tablespoon bourbon
  • salt to taste
  • fresh ground black pepper

Melt the butter in a skillet on medium-high heat and then saute the mushrooms in it.  Sprinkle a bit of salt on them during this part of the cooking process so that they release a bit of their liquid.  Once the mushrooms have released a bit of their liquid and are starting to brown, pour the bourbon in the pan to deglaze it, and stir the mushrooms around carefully to wet them with the liquor.  Once the mushrooms have been sufficiently flavored by the bourbon, add the half and half, and stir until thoroughly mixed.  Allow the mixture to bubble and then remove from the heat.  Feel free to add in some fresh ground black pepper.  Serve immediately over steaks or any other favorite meat.

This recipe served one very hungry husband, who thoroughly enjoyed the ‘shrooms as an accompaniment to a tasty rare beef tenderloin.

One response to “Mushrooms in Creamy Bourbon Sauce

  1. Sounds wonderful! Our local tapas place does sauteed mushrooms in cream & sherry sauce. I think this is a cousin.

Leave a Reply

