Chicken Jambalaya

The past two weeks have been busy ones and I haven’t gotten to do a lot of cooking, sadly.  I do plan, however, to make an awesome chile colorado (old school Mex!) this weekend.  I’ve been under a lot of stress, and I find that one thing that relieves my stress is cooking, so I suppose I ought to do more of it.

Tonight, though, I had Sweet Baboo cook dinner from a recipe I wrote for him earlier in the day.  I’d been craving some Cajun cooking, and after going to the store on Sunday and picking up a pretty bell pepper, decided we’d have jambalaya for dinner one night this week.  I had to work late tonight, so SB cooked for us, following the recipe below.

 

Chicken jambalaya...an easy, tasty dinner with a bite!

 

I wrote him the recipe, he cooked it, and boy, was it good!  Here’s how he did it.  You will need:

  • 2 pounds boneless, skinless chicken thighs, diced into bite-size pieces (I use these because they add a lot of flavor)
  • 2 bell peppers, diced
  • 2 cans of diced tomatoes in their juice
  • 2 cups diced celery
  • 1 tablespoon minced garlic
  • 1 teaspoon cayenne pepper (add more if you like for more heat)
  • 1 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried thyme
  • 1 cup chicken stock
  • salt and pepper
  • 4 cups instant white rice (we use the microwavable kind)

Put a teaspoon of canola oil in the bottom of a Dutch oven and heat it.  Place the chicken in the pan, season with salt and pepper, and cook until done.  You may have to drain a bit of fat off here.

Next, add in the garlic, celery and diced bell pepper.  Stir this around so that it is evenly mixed.  Add about a teaspoon of garlic powder.  Note that the onion normally a part of Cajun/Creole cuisine’s “trinity” flavor base is absent here.  If food allergies are not an issue in your household, I would add a cup of diced onion here.

Pour in two cans of diced tomatoes and season the mixture with the cayenne pepper and thyme.  Add the chicken stock and stir.  Let this simmer, stirring occasionally to make sure nothing sticks to the bottom.  After the mixture has simmered for about 25 minutes, add in your rice and stir to evenly distribute.  Taste for flavor and season accordingly.  Serve hot, with Tabasco or Louisiana Hot Sauce if you like.

I am looking forward to eating this as leftovers tomorrow night with a bit of crusty bread and butter!

Leave a Reply

