Chile Verde

A couple of weeks ago, I made chile colorado, which was quickly gobbled up by SB and me.  I’d been wanting to replicate the green chile stew I periodically ask my mom to make, and when I asked her how to make the chile colorado, I was sure to ask her how to make the chile verde as well.

It turns out that it’s just as easy to fix as chile colorado.  First, you need some green chile:

When you can't get Hatch chiles, this is a good substitute.

Since I didn’t have any Hatch on hand, as my mom always does (she buys 50+ pounds when they are in season and freezes it to use all year long), I had to settle for a tub of Bueno, which I found in the frozen vegetable section at Central Market.  It had a little bit of a bite, but not as much as I like my green chile to have.

Green chile puree adds heat to this simple beef stew.

This stew is rather easy to fix and requires little attention while cooking.  It does take quite a bit of time to cook, though, so be sure you either start it early on in the evening if you plan to have dinner on the table by 6, or make it on the weekend and reheat.

Here’s how I did it.  You will need:

  • 1 13 ounce tub frozen green chiles, pureed (canned green chiles would work here as well), about 2 cups
  • 2 pounds stew beef or chuck roast, cubed into bite-size pieces
  • 2 large russet potatoes, peeled and diced into bite-size pieces
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced
  • black pepper
  • salt to taste
  • 2 teaspoons garlic powder
  • 1 onion, diced (NOTE:  I did not add onion to my version, but this dish really needs onion to add more complexity to the flavor)

In a large Dutch oven, heat 2 teaspoons of canola oil.  Add the beef and stir, being sure to brown all sides of the meat.  Cover and cook the beef until most of the liquid has cooked off.  If you are using onions, add them here.  Next, add in the garlic cloves and powder, chile puree, black pepper and salt with enough water to cover the meat by about an inch and allow this to simmer for an hour to an hour and a half, stirring periodically.  You want the meat to be fork tender at this point.

During the last 30 minutes of cooking time, add the potatoes with a bit more water.  Allow the potatoes to cook until they are easily pierced with a fork.

Serve with warm tortillas and cheese.  I served a pot of spicy pinto beans alongside ours.  This makes an outstanding burrito filling, and is how I usually eat it when I have it at my mom’s.

This recipe makes about 10 1 1/2 cup servings, or thereabouts.  We have dinner for tomorrow night, with scant leftovers for a third night’s dinner.

Leave a Reply

