Summer in a Bowl

Summer is my favorite season for fruits, especially here in Texas.   When I was a kid growing up, I spent summers with my grandparents in Anthony, New Mexico, which is practically desert.  What made the hot summers much more tolerable was eating what I am sure were tons of watermelon and peaches.  Grandpa Viro would take us to the fruit stand just out of town and buy fruit by what seemed like the bushelful–melons, peaches, plums, apricots, grapes and bananas.  I still remember biting into the peaches, the juice running down my chin, making my face and fingers sticky with the sweetness of the fruit lingering behind.

Ah, summer…summer brings to Texas some of the sweetest peaches and melons–grown here, but few people outside the state know this.  Tragic, really, as Texas peaches are really a hidden treasure that more people ought to know about!  But I digress…

This evening, we had barbecued chicken drums for dinner–an easy favorite of mine to fix–and I had a hankering for a fruity dessert.

Enter Parker County peaches, and a carton of Texas blueberries. Initially, I was going to make a peach-blueberry cobbler, but then I looked at how many cups of peaches I had and determined that the berries and peaches wouldn’t fit in the baking dish I had. I needed to use the berries though, so I thought about it and decided a blueberry sauce would be the perfect accompaniment.  Peaches and blueberries are bffs, right?  I also wanted something that would be easy enough to put together that could bake while we were enjoying our dinner.  Et voila:

Easy to assemble, this cobbler will be a hit at your summer dinner table.

Here’s how to make this easy dessert.  You will need:

For the cobbler (modified from The Pioneer Woman’s recipe):

  • 4 large peaches, pitted and sliced into eighths
  • 2 teaspoons ground cinnamon, divided
  • 1 cup, plus 6 tablespoons sugar
  • 1 cup self-rising flour*
  • 1 cup 2% milk
  • 1 stick unsalted butter

*if you do not have self-rising flour, substitute 1 cup of all-purpose flour that has had 1 teaspoon baking powder plus 1/8 teaspoon salt added to it.

For the blueberry sauce:

  • 1 pint fresh blueberries, rinsed and drained
  • 4 tablespoons sugar
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1 teaspoon lemon juice
  • 1 teaspoon arrowroot starch, dissolved in a bit of warm water

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.  Lightly grease a 2-quart baking dish.  Place your sliced peaches in the bottom of the dish and sprinkle them with 1 teaspoon of the cinnamon.  To make a nice juice as the cobbler cooks, sprinkle about 2 tablespoons of sugar over the peaches.

To prepare the batter for the cobbler, into a large bowl, combine the dry ingredients.  Melt the butter in a microwave-safe container.  While the butter is melting, whisk the milk into the dry ingredients, and then drizzle the melted butter into the batter until all ingredients are well-combined.

Pour the batter over the peaches, and then sprinkle the remaining 4 tablespoons of sugar over the top of the cobbler.  This will create a sugar crust on top that is really tasty, especially when the cobbler is eaten right out of the oven.  Bake for 1 hour at 350 degrees, or until the top is nice and bubbly.

While your cobbler is baking, you can cook down the berries for the sauce.  In a small saucepan, pour the berries, water, lemon juice and sugar.  Heat this over medium low heat with a lid, until the berries start to soften.  Once the berries have softened, remove the lid and allow the liquid to reduce slightly, about 10-15 minutes or so.  Strain the sauce through a fine mesh wire strainer into a container for storage, and discard the mash (although I kept it for SB to eat in his morning yogurt; you may elect to do the same).  I also thickened my sauce slightly with a teaspoon of arrowroot powder that I’d dissolved in about a tablespoon of water.

To serve the cobbler, I poured about a tablespoon of the blueberry sauce into the dish you see above, then served a portion of cobbler atop the sauce.  I added Cool Whip, as it is what we had, but I am positive whipped cream or ice cream would also make excellent accompaniments.

This recipe makes 12 small (1-cup) servings, or 6 generous servings.  It’s going to be all I can do NOT to eat some with a glass of milk for breakfast tomorrow.

One response to “Summer in a Bowl

  1. thatkellygirl

    *gulp*

    Now I have a sweet-tooth ache!

Leave a Reply

